Faculty Directory

Insert your title here

Find faculty members who share your interests

Are you a potential graduate student looking for a mentor? An undergraduate student exploring colleges? Or maybe another faculty member seeking a research partner? There are two ways to find a faculty member using the information below: you can search by department or find an expert by research area of interest.

Enroll in the Ichthyology course and you’ll get the chance to don a pair of hip waders and explore local streams like Stroubles Creek, which runs through the Virginia Tech campus. Professor Don Orth will be right there beside you to help identify the common and celebrate the rare aquatic species that call Southwest Virginia home.

Stella Schons teaches students about the economics and business of forestry, and her tools of the trade are models and spreadsheets. She’s putting these tools to work and collaborating with local communities to address one of the biggest and most complex challenges of our time: conservation and deforestation in the Amazon.

Find a faculty member by area of expertise

Professor Department Email Phone
Emmanuel Frimpong

Professor

Department of Fish and Wildlife Conservation

frimp@vt.edu

540-231-6880

Eric Hallerman

Professor

Department of Fish and Wildlife Conservation

ehallerm@vt.edu

540-231-3257

Professor Department Email Phone
Paul Angermeier
Professor
Department of Fish and Wildlife Conservation biota@vt.edu 540-231-4501
Andrew Dolloff
Professor
Department of Fish and Wildlife Conservation adoll@vt.edu 540‑231‑4864
Emmanuel Frimpong
Professor
Department of Fish and Wildlife Conservation frimp@vt.edu 540‑231‑6880
Eric Hallerman
Professor
Department of Fish and Wildlife Conservation ehallerm@vt.edu 540-231-3257
William Hopkins
Professor
Department of Fish and Wildlife Conservation hopkinsw@vt.edu 540-231-7292
Jess Jones
Associate Professor and Restoration Biologist
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Department of Fish and Wildlife Conservation jfishman@vt.edu 540‑231‑2266
Kevin McGuire
Associate Director
Virginia Water Resources Research Center kevin.mcguire@vt.edu 540-231-6017
Donald Orth
Thomas H. Jones Professor
Department of Fish and Wildlife Conservation don_orth@vt.edu 540-231-5919
Stephen Schoenholtz
Director
Virginia Water Resources Research Center schoenhs@vt.edu 540-231-0711
Professor Department Email Phone
John Munsell
Associate Professor and Extension Specialist
Department of Forest Resources and Environmental Conservation jfmunsel@vt.edu 540-231-1611
Henry Quesada
Associate Professor and Extension Specialist
Department of Sustainable Biomaterials quesada@vt.edu 540‑231‑0978
Professor Department Email Phone
Kevin Edgar
Professor
Department of Sustainable Biomaterials kjedgar@vt.edu 540-231-0674
Charles “Chip” Frazier
Thomas M. Brooks Professor
of Sustainable Biomaterials
Department of Sustainable Biomaterials cfrazier@vt.edu 540-231-8318
Young-Teck Kim
Assistant Professor
Department of Sustainable Biomaterials ytkim@vt.edu 540-231-1156
Maren Roman
Associate Professor
Department of Sustainable Biomaterials mgrunert@vt.edu 540-231-1421
Audrey Zink-Sharp
Professor
Department of Sustainable Biomaterials agzink@vt.edu 540-231-8820
Professor Department Email Phone
Daniel Hindman
Associate Professor
Department of Sustainable Biomaterials dhindman@vt.edu 540-231-9443
Joseph Loferski
Professor
Department of Sustainable Biomaterials jloferski@vt.edu 540-231-4405
Professor Department Email Phone
Anamaria Bukvic
Research Assistant Professor
Department of Geography ana.bukvic@vt.edu 540-231-2941
Carolyn Copenheaver
Associate Professor
Department of Forest Resources and Environmental Conservation ccopenhe@vt.edu 540-231-4031
Andrew Ellis
Associate Professor
Department of Geography awellis@vt.edu 540-231-8049
Jason Holliday
Associate Professor
Department of Forest Resources and Environmental Conservation jah1@vt.edu 540-231-7267
Luke Juran
Associate Professor
Department of Geography ljuran@vt.edu 540-231-0265
Kevin McGuire
Associate Director
Virginia Water Resources Research Center kevin.mcguire@vt.edu 540-231-6017
Lynn Resler
Associate Professor
Department of Geography resler@vt.edu 540-231-5790
Peter Sforza
Director and Research Scientist
Center for Geospatial Information Technology psforza@vt.edu 540-231-8935
Professor Department Email Phone
Kathleen Alexander
Professor
Department of Fish and Wildlife Conservation kathyalx@vt.edu 540-231-5059
Luis Escobar
Assistant Professor
Department of Fish and Wildlife Conservation escobar1@vt.edu 540-232-8454
Korine Kolivras
Associate Professor
Department of Geography korine@vt.edu 540-231-5514
Professor Department Email Phone
William Hopkins
Professor
Department of Fish and Wildlife Conservation hopkinsw@vt.edu 540-231-7292
John Seiler
The Honorable and Mrs. Shelton H. Short Jr. Professor of Forestry
Department of Forest Resources and Environmental Conservation jseiler@vt.edu 540-231-5461
Professor Department Email Phone
W. Michael Aust
The Honorable Garland Gray Professor of Forestry
Department of Forest Resources and Environmental Conservation waust@vt.edu 540‑231‑4523
Carolyn Copenheaver
Associate Professor
Department of Forest Resources and Environmental Conservation ccopenhe@vt.edu 540-231-4031
C. Andrew Dolloff
Professor
Department of Fish and Wildlife Conservation adoll@vt.edu 540‑231‑4864
W. Mark Ford
Associate Professor and Unit Leader for the Virginia Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit
Department of Fish and Wildlife Conservation wmford@vt.edu 540-231-5927
Carola Haas
Professor
Department of Fish and Wildlife Conservation cahaas@vt.edu 540-231-9269
Sarah Karpanty
Professor
Department of Fish and Wildlife Conservation karpanty@vt.edu 540-231-4586
Kevin McGuire
Associate Director
Virginia Water Resources Research Center kevin.mcguire@vt.edu 540‑231‑6017
Donald Orth
Thomas H. Jones Professor of Fisheries and Wildlife
Department of Fish and Wildlife Conservation don_orth@vt.edu 540-231-5919
Philip Radtke
Associate Professor
Department of Forest Resources and Environmental Conservation pradtke@vt.edu 540-231-8863
Lynn Resler
Associate Professor
Department of Geography resler@vt.edu 540-231-5790
Stephen Schoenholtz
Director
Virginia Water Resources Research Center schoenhs@vt.edu 540-231-0711
Brian Strahm
Associate Professor
Department of Forest Resources and Environmental Conservation Brian.strahm@vt.edu 540-231-8627
Professor Department Email Phone
W. Michael Aust

The Honorable Garland Gray Professor of Forestry
Department of Forest Resources and Environmental Conservation waust@vt.edu 540-231-4523
Scott Barrett
Associate Professor
Department of Forest Resources and Environmental Conservation sbarrett@vt.edu 540-231-6702
M. Chad Bolding
Associate Professor
Department of Forest Resources and Environmental Conservation bolding@vt.edu 540-231-6924
John Munsell
Associate Professor and
Extension Specialist
Department of Forest Resources and Environmental Conservation jfmunsel@vt.edu 540-231-1611
Professor Department Email Phone
Amy Brunner
Associate Professor
Department of Forest Resources and Environmental Conservation abrunner@vt.edu 540-231-3165
Eric Hallerman
Professor
Department of Fish and Wildlife Conservation ehallerm@vt.edu 540-231-5573
Jason Holliday
Associate Professor
Department of Forest Resources and Environmental Conservation jah1@vt.edu 540-231-7267
Jess Jones
Associate Professor
and Restoration Biologist
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Department of Fish and Wildlife Conservation jfishman@vt.edu 540-231-2266
Professor Department Email Phone
John Boyer
Instructor
Department of Geography joboyer@vt.edu 540-231-5805
James Campbell
Professor
Department of Geography jayhawk@vt.edu 540-231-5841
Laurence “Bill” Carstensen
Professor
Department of Geography carstens@vt.edu 540-231-7557
Scott Klopfer
Director
Conservation Management Institute sklopfer@vt.edu 540-231-8825
Korine Kolivras
Associate Professor
Department of Geography korine@vt.edu 540-231-5514
John McGee
Professor and Extension Specialist
Department of Forest Resources and Environmental Conservation jmcg@vt.edu 540-231-2428
Peter Sforza
Director and Research Scientist
Center for Geospatial Information Technology psforza@vt.edu 540-231-8935
Professor Department Email Phone
Gregory Amacher
Julian N. Cheatham Professor of Forestry
Department of Forest Resources and Environmental Conservation gamacher@vt.edu 540-231-5943
Timothy Baird
Associate Professor
Department of Geography tbaird@vt.edu 540-231-5116
Anamaria Bukvic
Research Assistant Professor
Department of Geography ana.bukvic@vt.edu 540-231-2941
Ashley Dayer
Assistant Professor
Department of Fish and Wildlife Conservation dayer@vt.edu 540-231-8847
A.L. “Tom” Hammett II
Professor
Department of Sustainable Biomaterials himal@vt.edu 540-231-2716
R. Bruce Hull
Professor
Department of Forest Resources and Environmental Conservation hullrb@vt.edu 540-231-7272
Luke Juran
Associate Professor
Department of Geography ljuran@vt.edu 540-231-0265
Courtney Kimmel
Associate Director
Center for Leadership in Global Sustainability cekimmel@vt.edu 540-585-4985
Kieran Lindsey
Associate Director
Center for Leadership in Global Sustainability klindsey@vt.edu 314-605-8820
Michael Mortimer
Director and Senior Fellow
Center for Leadership in Global Sustainability mmortime@vt.edu 571-858-3380
Robert Oliver
Associate Professor
Department of Geography oliverr@vt.edu 540-231-5523
David Robertson
Associate Director
Center for Leadership in Global Sustainability davidrobertson@vt.edu 540-449-3167
Michael Sorice
Associate Professor
Department of Forest Resources and Environmental Conservation msorice@vt.edu 540-231-8303
Marc Stern
Professor
Department of Forest Resources and Environmental Conservation mjstern@vt.edu 540-231-7418
Professor Department Email Phone
John Boyer
Instructor
Department of Geography joboyer@vt.edu 540-231-5805
James Campbell
Professor
Department of Geography jayhawk@vt.edu 540-231-5841
Carolyn Copenheaver
Associate Professor
Department of Forest Resources and Environmental Conservation ccopenhe@vt.edu 540-231-4031
Lisa Kennedy
Associate Professor
Department of Geography Likenne1@vt.edu 540-231-1422
Professor Department Email Phone
Anamaria Bukvic
Research Assistant Professor
Department of Geography ana.bukvic@vt.edu 540-231-2941
James Fraser
Professor
Department of Fish and Wildlife Conservation fraser@vt.edu 540-231-6064
Yan Jiao
Professor
Department of Fish and Wildlife Conservation yjiao@vt.edu 540-231-5749
Sarah Karpanty
Professor
Department of Fish and Wildlife Conservation karpanty@vt.edu 540-231-4586
Professor Department Email Phone
Robert Bush
Professor
Department of Sustainable Biomaterials rbush@vt.edu 540-231-8834
A.L. “Tom” Hammett II
Professor
Department of Sustainable Biomaterials himal@vt.edu 540-231-2716
Henry Quesada
Associate Professor and Extension Specialist
Department of Sustainable Biomaterials quesada@vt.edu 540-231-0978
Robert “Bob” Smith
Professor
Department of Sustainable Biomaterials rsmith4@vt.edu 540-231-7679
Professor Department Email Phone
David Carroll
Instructor
Department of Geography carrolld@vt.edu 540-231-5469
Andrew Ellis
Associate Professor
Department of Geography awellis@vt.edu 540-231-8049
Peter Sforza
Director and Research Scientist
Center for Geospatial Information Technology psforza@vt.edu 540-231-8935
Stephanie Zick
Assistant Professor
Department of Geography sezick@vt.edu 540-231-3434
Professor Department Email Phone
Laszlo Horvath
Associate Professor and
Director of the Center for
Packaging and Unit Load Design
Department of Sustainable Biomaterials lhorvat@vt.edu 540-231-7673
Young-Teck Kim
Assistant Professor
Department of Sustainable Biomaterials ytkim@vt.edu 540-231-1156
Professor Department Email Phone
Harold Burkhart
Thomas M. Brooks Professor of Forestry
Department of Forest Resources and Environmental Conservation burkhart@vt.edu 540-231-6952
Emmanuel Frimpong
Professor
Department of Fish and Wildlife Conservation frimp@vt.edu 540-231-6880
Laszlo Horvath
Associate Professor and
Director of the Center for
Packaging and Unit Load Design
Department of Sustainable Biomaterials lhorvat@vt.edu 540-231-7673
Yan Jiao
Professor
Department of Fish and Wildlife Conservation yjiao@vt.edu 540-231-5749
Philip Radtke
Associate Professor
Department of Forest Resources and Environmental Conservation pradtke@vt.edu 540-231-8863
Dean Stauffer
Professor
Department of Fish and Wildlife Conservation dstauffe@vt.edu 540-231-7349
Randolph Wynne
Professor
Department of Forest Resources and Environmental Conservation wynne@vt.edu 540-231-7811
Professor Department Email Phone
Jeffrey Marion
Leader of Cooperative
Park Studies Unit and
Adjunct Professor
Department of Forest Resources and Environmental Conservation jmarion@vt.edu 540-231-6603
Professor Department Email Phone
Gregory Amacher
Julian N. Cheatham Professor of Forestry
Department of Forest Resources and Environmental Conservation gamacher@vt.edu 540-231-5943
Jay Sullivan
Professor
Department of Forest Resources and Environmental Conservation jsulliv@vt.edu 540-231-4356
Professor Department Email Phone
David Robertson
Associate Director
Center for Leadership in Global Sustainability davidrobertson@vt.edu 540-449-3167
P. Eric Wiseman
Associate Professor
Department of Forest Resources and Environmental Conservation pwiseman@vt.edu 540-231-5148
Professor Department Email Phone
W. Michael Aust
The Honorable Garland Gray Professor of Forestry
Department of Forest Resources and Environmental Conservation waust@vt.edu 540-231-4523
James Parkhurst
Associate Professor
Department of Fish and Wildlife Conservation jparkhur@vt.edu 540-231-9283
Professor Department Email Phone
W. Mark Ford
Associate Professor and
Unit Leader for the Virginia
Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit
Department of Fish and Wildlife Conservation wmford@vt.edu 540-231-5927
James Fraser
Professor
Department of Fish and Wildlife Conservation fraser@vt.edu 540-231-6064
Carola Haas
Professor
Department of Fish and Wildlife Conservation cahaas@vt.edu 540-231-9269
William Hopkins
Professor
Department of Fish and Wildlife Conservation hopkinsw@vt.edu 540-231-7292
Sarah Karpanty
Professor
Department of Fish and Wildlife Conservation karpanty@vt.edu 540-231-4586
Marcella Kelly
Professor
Department of Fish and Wildlife Conservation makelly2@vt.edu 540-231-1734
Scott Klopfer
Director
Conservation Management Institute sklopfer@vt.edu 540-231-8825
James Parkhurst
Associate Professor
Department of Fish and Wildlife Conservation jparkhur@vt.edu 540-231-9283
Dean Stauffer
Professor
Department of Fish and Wildlife Conservation dstauffe@vt.edu 540-231-7349
Professor Department Email Phone
Brian Bond
Professor
Department of Sustainable Biomaterials bbond@vt.edu 540-231-8752
Urs Buehlmann
Professor and Extension Specialist
Department of Sustainable Biomaterials ubuehlm@vt.edu 540-231-9759
Linda Caudill
Senior Research Associate and Managing Director of the Wood-Based Composites Center
Department of Sustainable Biomaterials lcaudill@vt.edu 540-231-7092
Charles “Chip” Frazier
Thomas M. Brooks Professor of
Sustainable Biomaterials
Department of Sustainable Biomaterials cfrazier@vt.edu 540-231-8318
D. Earl Kline
Professor
Department of Sustainable Biomaterials kline@vt.edu 540-231-8841