The Virginia Tech student chapter of The Wildlife Society was named Chapter of the Year by the society’s Southeastern Section, earning a $1,000 prize.

Section President Eric Pelgren (left) presented the award to Virginia Tech student chapter members (front, left to right) Paige Crane, Christina Muehlbauer, Ally Moser, Erica Peyton, (back) Chris Rowe, and David Tilson at the annual meeting in November.

In addition, the chapter’s Quizbowl team took third place in the competition at the national meeting in Winnipeg, Manitoba, and first place at the Southeastern Wildlife Conclave in March.